Tibet House in Russia

Elena Vreblevskaya /  In the beginning was the Word. But it didnt come from the Bible. I cant recall when I first heard it, but I remember a sense of some bottomless mystery, unfathomable and yet poignantly familiar. It echoed in me so strongly that I burst into tears TIBET it is not just a word, but a magical bell that has been ringing in my heart ever since. Tibetan bell is a feminine symbol, its sound represents the seed sound of creation. I followed its calling as I entered the realm of Tibetan Buddhism.

I was still in high school when I read Magic and Mystery in Tibet by Alexandra David-Neel. That book gripped my imagination and wouldnt let go. I knew without doubt that one day I will find myself in that world of infinite possibilities where the visible and the invisible coexist side by side and people can work miracles. When I was a student of psychology, I would compare psychotherapy techniques with Tibetan practices for all their differences they had something in common, only the former helped people to cope with life while the latter imbued it with new meaning and depth. Eventually, I reached the point where Buddhism stopped being just a beautiful concept I treasured and made its way into my daily life. This happened when I set up an art gallery that became a magnet for the artists who practiced Buddhism and some exciting people who travelled to Tibet.

This time I embraced Tibetan Buddhism through its art a unique phenomenon seeing that in Tibet secular art is nonexistent. All artwork created by Tibetan masters is purposefully religious. It will never occur to a Tibetan artist to paint just a pretty landscape if it is not part of spiritual practice. Only those subjects that point to enlightenment are worthy of being depicted on canvas or shaped into sculpture, dance, or even a modest tea cup that is always imprinted with mantras as a prompting for those who aim to stay on course.

This approach came to resonate with my world outlook, and in the year 2000 I invited Tibetan monks to come to Moscow. Their visit was part of an art project at Moscow centre of contemporary art where for ten days they held concerts of overtone chanting and built sand mandalas. Yet for me it was not only my first successful Tibetan art project, but also a major personal highlight. At the end of their visit I received initiation in the Gelug tradition a school of Tibetan Buddhism founded in 14th century by Je Tsongkhapa with special emphasis on ethics and in-depth study of Buddhist philosophy. Later I went on to study with the masters of this school who also taught me about symbolism and composition of Tibetan tankas that have so much in common with the visionary art. Those tankas felt both very alien and very familiar. They seemed to open a treasure casket deep inside me, and I was longing to share their contents with everyone. It wasnt too long before I was given such an opportunity

In 2003 I invited Robert Thurman, a well-known American tibetologist and an expert on Himalayan art to read lectures at my gallery. I wrote him a letter and expected to become involved in a long correspondence, but two weeks later I received a call and a male voice said: This is Bob Thurman. Im in Moscow. I have two hours and I can come to your gallery. He arrived with his wife and we sat down to talk well, that talk continued for the next three days all over Moscow, and we only parted company to get some sleep. By that time I had already quite a few ongoing projects with Tibetan monks. We also organized Free Tibet Concerts with Russian musicians. And so Thurman said: If you are already so busy with all this, why dont you do it under the brand name of Tibet House? He promised to have a word with the Dalai Lama and see what he thinks about this idea. Soon my husband and I sponsored a big project the construction of the Kalachakra Mandala in Moscow, and later on we were granted an audience with His Holiness. Needless to say that he approved of the idea to set up Tibet House in Russia that has within it three republics where they practice Tibetan form of Buddhism. It is extremely important, he said, to familiarize Russian people with Tibetan civilization with its culture, philosophy, religion, and lifestyle. Thus the Daila Lama gave his blessing to the Tibet House in Moscow that was founded in 2004.

In October 2004, the Tibet House undertook its first major project, an international festival Tibet: traditions, art, philosophy. I invited Richard Gere to come to Moscow with his Pilgrim exhibition a series of photographs taken during his travels in Tibet, India, and Nepal, as well as monks from Gyudmed Monastery who took four months to create two-meters-high butter sculptures depicting Buddhist saints and deities. The festival programme also included an exhibition of sacred Buddhist relics, Robert Thurmans lecture on Buddhist culture, an exhibition of Tibetan Medicine and Astrology Institute Men-tsi-khang, an exhibition Masks of the Dancing Lamas of Tibet, and a display of Tibetan dolls. And that was just the first step.

I feel intimately connected to the aesthetics of Tibetan culture, its powerful spiritual core, and many-layered levels of existence intricately interwoven with each other and with our own world that seems so real. Tibet is such a major presence in my life it is my source of inspiration, a hypnotic energy, an endless field of research, and a way of channeling my energies and efforts. Tibetan culture is an extension of a Tibetan bowl with its powerfully clear sound that can infiltrate into the cluttered treasure houses of our souls to help sprout live seeds of creation. I hope that this sound will echo for all of us throughout the eternity.

Elena Vrublevskaya,
president of "Tibet House" in Russia
2013

 

 

 

home | news | Tibet-2004 | Tibet-2005 | Partners | Tibet Houses around the world
  / Tibet House in Moscow
107045, Moscow, Rozhdestvensky blvrd, 19
tel.: +7-499-130-42-97; +7-905-517-51-70
E-mail: moscow@tibethouse.ru   tibethousemoscow@gmail.com
© 2004-2017

История Тибетского дома в Москве

Елена Врублевская / Elena VreblevskayaВначале было слово. Но отнюдь не библейское. Не помню, когда я его впервые услышала, но точно помню, что оно отозвалось во мне бездонной тайной – неведомой, но так пронзительно знакомой, что я расплакалась без всяких видимых причин… ТИБЕТ – не слово, а волшебный колокольчик, звенящий в моём сердце по сей день. Тибетский колокольчик –  женский символ, а его звук символизирует звук зерна творения. Именно с ним я впервые шагнула в тибетский буддизм.

А потом, ещё в школе, мне попалась книга «Мистики и маги Тибета» Александры Давид-Нэель, пленившая моё воображение. Я поняла, что когда-нибудь обязательно попаду в этот мир бесконечных возможностей, где видимое и невидимое существуют бок о бок, а люди умеют творить чудеса. Учась на факультете психологии, я сравнивала методы психотерапии с тибетскими практиками – при всей гигантской разнице в них было что-то общее, только одни помогали человеку справляться с жизнью, а другие привносили в неё новый смысл и глубину. В конце концов настал момент, когда буддизм перестал быть для меня прекрасной абстракцией и приобрел вполне конкретные очертания. Это произошло с открытием моей галереи, куда как магнитом стали притягиваться практиковавшие буддизм художники и просто интересные люди, бывавшие на Тибете.

На этот раз я вошла в тибетский буддизм через искусство. Это удивительный феномен, поскольку у тибетцев нет как такового светского искусства. Всё, что они создают, – намеренно религиозно. Тибетскому художнику никогда не придёт в голову изобразить просто красивый пейзаж, не привязанный к духовной практике. Лишь то, что ведёт к просветлению, достойно быть запечатленным на холсте, в скульптуре, в танце и любой, даже самой скромной чайной чашечке, которая обязательно будет вся в мантрах, как подсказка тем, кто стремится не сбиться с пути.

Такой подход всё больше резонировал с моим мировоззрением, и в 2000 году я привезла в Москву тибетских монахов. Их визит задумывался как арт-проект в Московском центре современного искусства, где в течение десяти дней они выступали с концертами обертонного пения и рисовали песочные мандалы. Однако для меня это стало ещё и огромным внутренним событием, так как в конце их визита я получила передачу в традиции гелуг – школе тибетского буддизма с акцентом на нравственность и изучение буддийской философии, основанной в 14-м веке ламой Чже Цонкапой. С этого момента я стала проходить обучение у мастеров этой школы, а также изучать композицию и символизм танок, удивительно схожих с визионерским искусством. Такие знакомые и такие чужие, они словно открывали внутри меня ларец с дарами, которые хотелось раздавать всем вокруг. И вскоре мне представилась эта возможность…

В 2003 году я пригласила Роберта Турмана, известного американского тибетолога и специалиста по гималайскому искусству, выступить с лекциями в моей галерее. Написав ему письмо, я ожидала долгих согласований, но через две недели у меня позвонил телефон и мужской голос сказал: «Это Боб Турман. Я в Москве, у меня есть два часа и я готов приехать в галерею». Он приехал вместе с женой, мы сели пообщаться – и после этого три дня не расставались. К этому времени у меня уже было довольно много проектов с тибетскими монахами. Мы также организовывали концерты русских музыкантов в поддержку Тибета. И Турман сказал: «Если ты всё равно уже занимаешься этой темой, почему бы тебе не делать это под брендом Тибетского Дома?» Он обещал поговорить с Далай-ламой и узнать его отношение к этой идее. Вскоре мы с мужем выступили спонсорами большого проекта – строительства мандалы Калачакра в Москве, после чего оказались на аудиенции у его святейшества. И он, конечно, одобрил идею создания Тибетского Дома в России, в состав которой входят три республики с тибетской формой буддизма. «Крайне важно, – сказал он, – знакомить жителей России с тибетской цивилизацией: её культурой, философией, религией и образом жизни». Так в 2004 году с благословения Далай-ламы был основан Тибетский Дом в Москве.

Первой его акцией стал фестиваль «Тибет – традиции, искусство, философия» в октябре 2004 года. Я пригласила на него Ричарда Гира с выставкой фотографий из цикла «Паломник», сделанных им во время странствий по Тибету, Индии и Непалу, а также мастеров из монастыря Гьюдмед, которые больше месяца возводили двухметровые масляные скульптуры с изображениями буддистских святых и божеств. В рамках фестиваля также прошли выставки священных буддистских реликвий, лекции Роберта Турмана по буддийской культуре, выставка института тибетской медицины и астрологии «Мен-ци-кханг», выставка масок танцующих лам из Тибета и выставка тибетских кукол. И это было только начало…

Эстетика  культуры Тибета, её мощный духовный стержень, её многослойные миры, причудливым образом переплетённые с тем, что принято считать реальным, – всё это мне невероятно близко. Это и источник вдохновения, и бесконечная тема для исследования, и завораживающая энергия, и точка приложения сил. В культуре Тибета, как в тибетской чаше, сосредоточен чистый мощный звук, способный проникать в заваленные чем попало сокровищницы нашей души, чтобы взращивать живые зерна творения. Я надеюсь, что он будет звучать для нас вечно.

Елена Вреблевская,
президент «Тибетского Дома» в России
2013

 

 

 

на главную | новости | Тибет-2004 | Тибет-2005 | Друзья и партнеры | Тибетские Дома по всему миру
  2004-2017 © Региональная общественная организация по изучению
традиционного уклада жизни и обычаев народов Тибета «Тибетский дом»

107045, Москва, Рождественский бульвар, 19
Тел.: +7-499-130-42-97; +7-905-517-51-70
E-mail: moscow@tibethouse.ru   tibethousemoscow@gmail.com | Реквизиты